1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. If you are going to register on XLNation, please make sure you do not use a proxy server.
    If you use a proxy server your registration will most likely get blocked due to spammers and hackers using proxy servers to hide their real IP address.

If your using your home or work IP address and have not received your registration email, check your spam folder.
    PLEASE DO NOT ASK TO HAVE YOUR ACCOUNT DELETED IF YOU HAVE POSTED IN THE FORUM! If so we do not delete accounts due to the mess it can make on the forum.
    Dismiss Notice

"3d Trial Mods"

Discussion in 'Modding Help Quarter' started by Merrilkl Maddox, May 1, 2015.

1. Merrilkl Maddox

Merrilkl Maddox Executive

Hey all,

I am new to modding, and have found a few little bugs that ware going around.

First, 3Ds max 2012 is no longer legally available, so the tools you have been using will not work. Tools such as Layout File Creator 3ds max plug-in, CitiesXL_ArtistToolSuite2012, and others.

I understand that there is a new tool with XXL "Artist Tool Suite (Build 10.4.0.14)" that is a stand alone program. I also heard that it may or may not work with the older CXL builds.

So, the reason for this thread, since I am new to modding, is to keep notes of everything I do, so people can fallow and may not have as much trouble as I have in the past few days.

Here is what I have done so far.

1. Thanks to Mr.X2, I have found, and downloaded the "Artist Tool Suite" (Build 10.4.0.14)" from http://focus-files.com/files/citiesxl/ArtistSuiteSetup.10.4.0.14.exe. I was told that this is a standalone program, and you can use it on any 3d software that can handle .fbx file format.

2. I have accumulated a number of 3D programs such as 3ds Max 2014, 2015, Blender 2.73, Gmax, Maya, and Sketchup 2015. I found a copy of Sketchup 2008 that I will try as well.