1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. I will no longer be hosting XLNation as of March 1, 2017. Skullz613 will be taking the reigns of the site in early 2017 and XLNation will be moving to a new web hosting service. During that transition there will be an interruption in service of up to two weeks. Skullz613 is now a full administrator of XLNation. Be kind to him.

3DS Max Not Available At Autodesk?

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by Merrilkl Maddox, Apr 30, 2015.

  1. Merrilkl Maddox

    Merrilkl Maddox Executive

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hello all,
    I have been playing around with CXL for a couple years, and am just now attempting to create some mods. I believe I would be able to contribute a lot to CXL, CXXL, and Xl nation if I could find out how the mods are created and installed.

    I have been reading tutorials for about 2 days now, and all the tools I have found require 3ds Max 2012, however, 2012, is an old issue, and is no longer available.

    I have been modeling for about 10 years, using 3ds Max, Blender, Maya, Gmax, and Sketchup.

    If anyone could please direct me to where I need to be, I would really appreciate it.
    Also When I downloaded the Pak-Unpack tool, I found that even given a language choice, it will only install in French.

    My goal is to be able to create content as well as maps, using google earth overlays, However that is done.

    Thanks so much for your help.

    Below is a couple sample images of my 3D work.


    Royal Gorge Bridge
    [​IMG]
    Porsche 911
    [​IMG][/URL][/IMG]
    Sake Set
    [​IMG]

    Thanks again.
     
  2. Merrilkl Maddox

    Merrilkl Maddox Executive

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    8
    Did not know how to upload the images in the thread, I found out. LOL

    car 1000.jpg Dragon_2.png HiPoly11.png Saki2.png
     
  3. Mr.X²

    Mr.X² Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    1,302
    you can change language of pak-unpak easily to english. just go to options and tick english, then restart the program, and voila :)
    about max 2012, yeah, thats a shame.. the only legal thing you can do about this is using the new artist-viewer-tool that came along with xxl. its standalone and you can use any 3d software that can handle .fbx file format. so for example max2015
    you can get the new artist-viewer here: http://focus-files.com/files/citiesxl/ArtistSuiteSetup.10.4.0.14.exe
    http://www2.citiesxl.com/en/game-steam
    PS: you can of course still use the old tutorials made for max2012, the only thing different is how to export your model to cxl
     
  4. Merrilkl Maddox

    Merrilkl Maddox Executive

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    8
    Mr.X Pleased to meet you.

    I have the Pac-Unpack set to English now, Thank you!

    I am going to download the Artist Suite Setup now, and give that a go. I have Maya, 3ds Max 14 and 15 both, Blender, and I found a copy of 2008 Sketchup, so one of them should work, since I am proficient in all of them. However, I read on another post that this may only work for XXL. So, it's off to steam to download the new XXL.

    I was trying to avoid that though, since I have heard that it is more of a patch for Platinum, rather than a new game.

    Very grateful for all your help! Maybe now I can contribute to the cause! LOL:sneaky:
     
  5. Merrilkl Maddox

    Merrilkl Maddox Executive

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    8
    Please turn your attention to my thread "3d Trial Mods" in the "Modding Help Quarter".

    See you there, Thanks. :dm9:
     

Share This Page