1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. I will no longer be hosting XLNation as of March 1, 2017. Skullz613 will be taking the reigns of the site in early 2017 and XLNation will be moving to a new web hosting service. During that transition there will be an interruption in service of up to two weeks. Skullz613 is now a full administrator of XLNation. Be kind to him.

Cities XXL Map Editor ...Q/A

Discussion in 'Modding Help Quarter' started by ronrn, Dec 11, 2015.

  1. ronrn

    ronrn Governor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    706
    So far I've been lucky just fumbling my way thru materials application, but now that I really need specific results I find myself beating my head against a wall.
    I have materials exactly the way I want them in ...bake diffuse/material edition mode...
    I can't get the same result to carry over to ...bake normal map/normal mode...
    What's up with that?
    diffuse mapping.jpg normal mapping.jpg
     
  2. Monty

    Monty Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    2,529
    Normal mode shows the baked material (diffuse+normal) you cant se both separately, material editor mode is only there to mix the textures to create a material. After rendering the diffuse material the baked diffuse should appear in normal mode.
     
  3. ronrn

    ronrn Governor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    706
    1.In "material edition" mode I choose textures, I adjust this & that and other stuff till I get the results I want.
    2. I click "bake diffuse map", rendering the diffuse material, while still in "material edition" mode. Good results.
    3. I switch to "normal" mode to save the material file.
    At this point the results change to whatever and are different from the 'bake diffuse' results as illustrated in the images above. Clicking "bake normal map" does not make a difference. Saving while in "material edition" mode saves the "normal" mode results.

    Am I missng any steps or doing them in the wrong order?
    note:The same thing happens when I load any other material file including the existng/preset material files.
    Just in case, I verified integrity of the tool cache. It replaced a couple of files but had no effect on these results.
     
  4. ronrn

    ronrn Governor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    706
    Apparently the original .land file must be replaced in order to modify not only the "landscape" but the "materials" as well.
    So that will be step 1 from now on.:oops:
     
  5. Monty

    Monty Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    2,529
    Yeah, keep an eye on the top of the editor, it shows the referenced files for your map screenshot_401.jpg
     
  6. ronrn

    ronrn Governor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    706
    Thanks Monty, for some reason that bar is blank when my editor is maximized.
     
  7. ronrn

    ronrn Governor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    706
    Max elevation height:
    relative to the scale of the editor's water height adjustments (0-2000m)
    790m (255 RGB grey scale) is the max terrain height possible.
    I'm guessing Mt Everest is out of the question?
     
  8. ronrn

    ronrn Governor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    706
    Trees:
    Russian Olive.... It renders bare w/no leaves.
    Perhaps corrupt or missing files?
     
  9. ronrn

    ronrn Governor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    706
    file size verses number of trees
    When it comes to new maps, tons of trees always makes them look better, which I assume has significant impact on "loading" times.
    Question is, which is more preferable, a maximum tree count with a larger .path file size or fewer trees with a smaller file size?
     
  10. ronrn

    ronrn Governor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    706
    In creating an island map:
    In the .lua file, I presume, what must be changed in order for the initial game prompt to show as "place a first harbor" instead of "make a road connection" ?
     
  11. ronrn

    ronrn Governor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    706
    Can anyone tell me what is the function of the number (206) at the ends of these .lua file command lines?
    example:
    -- City Links: Sea / Rail / Road / HighWay
    ["Sim_CityLinkInterCity_sea"] = { "Data/Gfx/Landscape/Layers/zdeli_Sim_CityLinkInterCity_sea.png", 206 },
     
  12. ronrn

    ronrn Governor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    706
    Anybody? please..
    To be more specific, I'm trying to find out how to edit the game resource 'overlay' colors, for example, the white over "coastline" or the green over "fertile areas", the purple edges over "city link railways", etc, etc.
     
  13. ronrn

    ronrn Governor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    706
    desperately seeking the function of these numbers (underlined in red) that are in a map lua file.
    lua file_numbers.jpg
     
  14. ronrn

    ronrn Governor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    706
    C'mon guys....even just a guess will be appreciated.:bash:
    Seeking any facts/information concerning:

    The numbers at the ends of these type of lines found in a maps .lua file.
    -- City Links: Sea / Rail / Road / HighWay
    ["Sim_CityLinkInterCity_sea"] = { "Data/Gfx/Landscape/Layers/zname_Sim_CityLinkInterCity_sea.png", 206 },
    ["Sim_CityLinkInterCity_rail"] = { "Data/Gfx/Landscape/Layers/zname_Sim_CityLinkInterCity_rail.png", 210 },


    Also, the source/location of files that govern the "Resources" overlay colors,
    i.e.
    Oil-producing areas - white
    Ground waters - green
    Fertile area - green
    Port area - white
    Holidays - green
    Coastal area - white
     
  15. skullz613

    skullz613 Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes Received:
    1,408
    Don't know if you figured this one out but I thinks it's mapname_01_sim_citylinkintercity_sea

    example,
    kauv2_01_sim_citylinkintercity_sea.png

    Have not played around with islands for a while.
     
  16. skullz613

    skullz613 Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes Received:
    1,408
    I remember looking into those numbers but can not for the life of me remember if I found out what they were. Ii will have to go through the unpacked XL files to refresh my memory. They are on my PC so will have to have a look when I'm up and about. I'm sitting in bed on my laptop as it is to cold to fully get up LOL.
     
  17. skullz613

    skullz613 Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes Received:
    1,408
    If the config for the colors is not in any config file then it my be coded into the exe file.
     
  18. ronrn

    ronrn Governor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    706
    Thanks, take your time:)
    here: this mornings lo 74 degrees, afternoon hi 86 degrees:whistle:
     
  19. ronrn

    ronrn Governor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    706
    Google Map Overlays for Cities XXL(2015).
    Well almost...:(
    After months of trial and error, I have figured out the proper image & tiling configuration to get a single image material file, in the Cities XXL map editor, to use for game maps. (see the image below)
    example1.jpg
    Now...How to get a clear image?
    Maybe some of you Photo Shop gurus can give me some ideas.
    The map editor uses a 512 x 512 .png for textures.
    The "map size" in the editor is 4096 x 4096, same as the in-game maps.
    My Google Map screen grabs are around 1024 x 1024 (72 pixels per inch).
    I get too much blur when I resize to 512 x 512.
    Then, the map editor seems to stretch the image, causing even more blur.
    The map editor will accept a 1024 x 1024 .png, but the results are near identical to using a 512 x 512 .png.
     
  20. East Pavilion-er

    East Pavilion-er Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    6
    ronrn:
    When I tried to create a slot for my new map, the game always says "no slot".
    How to solve it??? 无标题.png
     

Share This Page