1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. I will no longer be hosting XLNation as of March 1, 2017. Skullz613 will be taking the reigns of the site in early 2017 and XLNation will be moving to a new web hosting service. During that transition there will be an interruption in service of up to two weeks. Skullz613 is now a full administrator of XLNation. Be kind to him.

Game Performance

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by Nightcrawler, Aug 31, 2014.

  1. Nightcrawler

    Nightcrawler Guest

    Hey everyone,

    As we know, Cities XL has quite some problems with its performance, due to the game only using one core of a computers processor. So the game gets massive lags when a city reaches a certain size.

    Still I am seeing journals on this webpage with cities of immense sizes. I wonder if someone found a way to improve game performance?

    My system is not the newest but its totally acceptable for citiesxl. still I get massive lags in bigger cities, which kinda ruins the game for me, to some point.

    What do you guys do to improve the game performance? Or do you just learned to live with all those massive lags?
     
  2. Alex24

    Alex24 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    170
    well with my relatively new pc it runs pretty good, though i have to admit that i hardly ever got really large cities
    .
    Before I set graphics low and lived with the lag
     
  3. Pamascus27

    Pamascus27 Mayor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    223
    I think it has to do something with the computer setup of people. A person was able to not get substantial lag when he had a million people in his city and I think thats pretty impressive since I always lag at 100k which I think would be fixed by updating one's processor, right now I have an old Intel Duo, no wonder. :p Well I have been trying one method to reduce lag and I should say, it reduced lag for me substantially. Here is the link:
    Crap I'm on my phone so I can't do the archive right now.
     
  4. snick

    snick Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    132
    I can run CXL pretty good on my rather low-end PC. Of course, I run on low settings and as of late haven't built a city larger than a few hundred thousand.

    I guess a tip would be to only turn up settings for screenshots as well as make sure to leave the city (go to planet) every so often and then return as this does reduce lag somewhat.
     
  5. bobqwerty

    bobqwerty Executive

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    96
    Try 'zzzz_XLN_Bob_Balance_Beta_v1.1'; still under BETA. That means it's only for CitiesXL Platinum currently. I'm waiting for my Projects topic to be migrated to update it. It decreases the number of agents per building and calculations per second (among other little tweaks), thus reducing lag.

    http://www39.zippyshare.com/v/12327229/file.html
     
  6. skullz613

    skullz613 Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes Received:
    1,407
    Try this fix for the lag. It's worked for me. This was on the old XLN forum.

     
    simjnky83 likes this.
  7. Nightcrawler

    Nightcrawler Guest

    Thanks for all the replies. One more thing that bothers me about the game graphics. Even when the game has no lag in smaller cities, all trees and park objects disappear as soon as I zoom in to street level. The objects constantly reloading and disappearing again, causes the game to lag. So this is kind of an unnecessary, artificial lag. And its very annoying when I try to take screenshots of a city, or when I just want to walk around the streets.
     
  8. Spock

    Spock Executive

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    47
    i'm noticing that in game tree most likely to disappear but custom tree never disappear, sounds odd
     
  9. skullz613

    skullz613 Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes Received:
    1,407
    If you try the fix I posted, the tress will not disappear as all graphics are loaded only once
     
  10. Spock

    Spock Executive

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    47
    i've try it since old xln, all tree loaded and appear but, at some camera angle it disappear except custom trees
     
  11. skullz613

    skullz613 Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes Received:
    1,407
    I had not noticed that any disappear. I'll have to watch the next time I play.
    I wouldn't think that to many would vanish.
     
  12. Spock

    Spock Executive

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    47
    i'm using camera mod btw and graphic at high setting, at some angle the shadow also disappear LOL
     
  13. snick

    snick Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    132
    Yep, disappearing shadows are a big issue for me as well. It also might be the fact that I have a very crappy (integrated :confused:) graphics card, but sometimes not only do shadows disappear, I get random bits a pieces of what appear to be shadows flickering across the entire map.
     
  14. Spock

    Spock Executive

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    47
    LOL, that flickering shadow thingy i never got
    i'm still curious about those missing trees, the custom tree like the one that very difficult to delete didn't disappear but the default game tree next to it disappear. lol
     
  15. zizaro

    zizaro Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hi everyone,
    I'm fed up with game crashing while the city is growing! Could anyone tell me if I "zzzz_XLN_Bob_Balance_Beta_v1.1" is compatible with skullz' fix?
    I can't find the 4gb patch, probably because of the migration to the new XLnation... is there any way to find it now?
    One neophyte question: Where can I find my backup files... is there a way to make them appear in the focus home interactive folder?

    Thanks a lot for your answers
     
  16. skullz613

    skullz613 Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes Received:
    1,407
    The 4GB patch can be found here.
    http://www.ntcore.com/4gb_patch.php
    Make a copy of the CitiesXL_2012.exe file and put it on your desktop and Patch it. Back up the original CitiesXL_2012.exe (call it CitiesXL_2012_bak.exe for example) and then place the patched one back into C:\Program Files (x86)\Focus Home Interactive\Cities XL 2012
     
  17. zizaro

    zizaro Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    8
    thanks for such reactivity!
     
  18. Manila Twilight

    Manila Twilight Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    I started playing this game during Monte Cristo days up until Cities XL 2011. But since I switched to Mac, I never had the chance to play it again. I recently tried to use Wineskin wrapper on Mac but to no avail. So I'm thinking to buy a PC laptop dedicated for gaming, specifically for Cities XL.

    Can you help me which of the two laptops work best for this game?

    DELL Inspiron 7447 Pandora
    Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4510U (4MB Cache, up to 3.5 GHz)
    Memory: 8GB DIMM (4GB x2) DDR3 1600MHz
    Hard Drive: 1TB 5400RPM SATA SSHD
    Display/Monitor: 14" LED Backlit with Truelife and HD resolution (1366×768)
    Graphic Card: nVidia GeForce GTX850M 4GB DDR5
    Battery: 4-cell Li-Ion
    Local price: 1,100 USD

    HP ENVY 15-q006TX
    Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-4712HQ with Intel HD Graphics 4600 (6 MB cache, 2.3 GHz, 4 cores)
    Memory: 8GB SDRAM (8GB x1) DDR3L 1600MHz
    Hard Drive: 1TB 5400RPM SATA SSHD
    Display/Monitor: 15.6" diagonal FHD anti-glare LED-backlit touch screen (1920 x 1080)
    Graphic Card: nVidia GeForce GTX850M 4GB DDR5
    Battery: 6-cell Li-ion
    Local price: 1,300 USD
     
  19. zizaro

    zizaro Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hi Manila, I'm not the good person to answer your question. But I can tell you that I bought a good pc last year with 16GO ram and a great processor and the game still crashes while the city is growing... so I'm afraid there's no good solution...
     
  20. skullz613

    skullz613 Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes Received:
    1,407
    Remember the the current CXL does not utilize multi cores (the new Cities XXL will if it goes ahead) so having more cores will not help in performance. As Zizaro said about the RAM, it will still crash due to all the bugs. I have 6 cores and 8GB of RAM and I get crashes all the time.
    I don't know for sure the differences between those two i7 cores but the HP has a healthy screen size.
     

Share This Page