1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. I will no longer be hosting XLNation as of March 1, 2017. Unless some one steps forward to take over the domain name and provide hosting XLNation will shutdown. If you are seriously interested in taking on this project and can technically and financially support the project please contact me.

Game Won't Start When I Add Custom Building

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by TheFilipo, Sep 1, 2014.

  1. TheFilipo

    TheFilipo Vagabond

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed the UIM and Shader Mod, and it runs fine when I start it, but when I add an downloaded custom building the game won't start. Only the splash screen pops up and then the error is "CitiesXL Game Application has stopped working"...
    What am I doing wrong? I place the .patch in the Paks folder.
     
  2. snick

    snick Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    132
    We can't really tell much unless you give us more details, including which mod you installed.

    Post the last 10 or so lines from the latest "GameClient" file (should open with notepad) you have at this location:

    C:\Users\*YourUsername*\AppData\Local\Focus Home Interactive\Cities XL 2012\log

    Make sure you have "Show hidden files, folders, and drives" selected (can be found via clicking "Organize" menu at the top-left of the folder browser, selecting "Folder and search options", then the "View" tab - will be about halfway down the list).
     
  3. TheFilipo

    TheFilipo Vagabond

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried several buildings, these are one of these:
    http://www.xlnation.net/resources/wells-fargo-office-building.399/
    http://www.xlnation.net/resources/2-prudential-plaza-chicago.408/


    [21:49:05] CORE mcMem.cpp ( 827) Error Available physical memory = 2.899Gb
    [21:49:05] CORE mcMem.cpp ( 828) Error Available addressable virtual memory = 3.847Gb
    [21:49:05] CORE mcMem.cpp ( 829) Error Total physical memory = 7.854Gb
    [21:49:05] CORE mcMem.cpp ( 830) Error Total addressable virtual memory = 3.999Gb
    [21:49:05] MEMORY mcMemAllocator.cpp ( 107) ErrorBuild .\Core\mcStringBasic.cpp(124) : Request for allocation failed. Out of memory (need -1227268688)

    Thank you, I appreciate your help!
     
  4. IcyHot

    IcyHot Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    653
    Replace them with the patches found here: http://xlnation.net/resources/aitortilla01s-updated-models-part-i.441/
    These have been tested and the patch error is gone. Let me know how it goes
     
    TheFilipo likes this.
  5. TheFilipo

    TheFilipo Vagabond

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, it works now :D but I can't find them in the menu now... Where are the buildings located?
     
  6. snick

    snick Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    132
    I believe they are both located in Industry -> Office -> T4 (Special), with the custom content filter on.
     
    TheFilipo likes this.
  7. TheFilipo

    TheFilipo Vagabond

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you all for your help. I finally managed to get it work :D
     

Share This Page