1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. I will no longer be hosting XLNation as of March 1, 2017. Skullz613 will be taking the reigns of the site in early 2017 and XLNation will be moving to a new web hosting service. During that transition there will be an interruption in service of up to two weeks. Skullz613 is now a full administrator of XLNation. Be kind to him.

Help please....

Discussion in 'Modding Help Quarter' started by DtwizzY, Mar 16, 2015.

  1. DtwizzY

    DtwizzY Elite

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    111
    Hi modders,
    I decided to put myself in modding, I know it is not easy especially with tutorials in English, but I hope to get there even if it takes me one year! :rolleyes:
    I guess you will help me if I have problems at least I hope ...

    I took a Sketchup model I then changed but this model is it
    748751towerparadisnewvers.jpg

    has elements where one does not know to textures and above there are many, in fact the whole building ... And seriously it's not funny ... :(
    601094towerparadis23prevprobl.jpg

    So is it possible to merge all its elements to allow placing textures?

    Or is that bad it does not have textures for the game?

    I started from 2 days so I'm a real beginner and the more I know of no active French modders ... So I'm doing with your tutorials but I am confused and lacks some tutorials informed in another, short it's hot!

    How many polygons must have a maximum building?

    Does my model can be done?
    721943towerparadis23prevpoly.jpg

    Thank you for your help (y)
     
  2. Monty

    Monty Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    2,507
    It needs a texture to work. And the triangle count is too high. What you have to do is modelling the facade with the less amount of elements you can and apply a texture that looks like you want it to look. And that glassy/transparent part ain't going to work.

    Check this wiki for triangle count limits and texture sizes
    http://citiesxl.wikia.com/wiki/Modding_-_3D_-_Building_Technical_Information
     
  3. DtwizzY

    DtwizzY Elite

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    111
    Thank you very much for the quick response Monty! :sneaky:

    Yes I suspected that the transparent part is not visible but I thought putting a texture ...

    But as you say that the building is not possible that changes everything ... Because I'm not at the base of the building, that's why I asked if there was a way to merge the parties to reduce the number of edges ... which would reduce the number of triangles right?

    As I say I really started but it's not staying in his corner we will get there ...

    But your link will really help me, thank you again ...

    Is this is the number of triangles?
    towerp10.jpg

    Thank you for your help (y)
     
  4. Mr.X²

    Mr.X² Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    1,298
    yeah 17000 triangles. thats a very huge amount and a shitload of work to reduce it down to ~6000....
    would be way easier to rebuild in max from scratch
    good luck :)
     
  5. Monty

    Monty Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    2,507
    Merging the elements will not reduce the amount of triangles. What you need to do is to redo the building, in its most basic shape, then you need to apply that facade pattern as a texture. Do you have a link to the model?
     
  6. nicko2u

    nicko2u Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    my suggestion if your new to modeling would be is - Pick a simple building, low rise maybe which has basic shape/less faces. Much easier to model/texture. When you have that working try more complex buildings/shapes. Tris == triangles.
     
    kipate likes this.
  7. DtwizzY

    DtwizzY Elite

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    111
  8. nicko2u

    nicko2u Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    that version would maybe make a good LOd4 model.
    You can then add extra edges/lines/faces to create more details for other lods.
     
  9. DtwizzY

    DtwizzY Elite

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    111
    Yes I know, but this tower stand at heart, but you're right I should start with a simple building to learn ...

    That's what I do not understand, I have to make different models for each lod? I have trouble understanding what LOD ....
     
  10. nicko2u

    nicko2u Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    1,053
  11. DtwizzY

    DtwizzY Elite

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    111
    Thanks

    Where do you find your textures?
    For all those available on the net or cgtextures no any that you ...
     
  12. Mr.X²

    Mr.X² Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    1,298
    cgtextures, google image search, flickr, wikimedia, google street view, ingame screenshots of videogames, sometimes also sketchup models, etc.
     
    kipate likes this.
  13. DtwizzY

    DtwizzY Elite

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    111
  14. DtwizzY

    DtwizzY Elite

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    111
    I finished and export to sgbin and transformed into patch but when I test in the game, I have a problem :

    cxl_sc11.jpg

    Annoying ... I do not see why I have two buildings, , and especially it's weird ...

    Perhaps an adjustment in EasyMOD XL?

    You have any ideas?
     
  15. pauliaxz

    pauliaxz Mayor

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    422
    do Reset XForm before exporting to CXL Artist suite
     
  16. DtwizzY

    DtwizzY Elite

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    111
    Where please ?
     
  17. pauliaxz

    pauliaxz Mayor

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    422
    Explained in the picture:

    resettingxf.png
     
  18. DtwizzY

    DtwizzY Elite

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    111
    Thanks

    I followed your tip, but it's even worse ...

    cxl_sc12.jpg

    Maybe I takes me wrong, it must be said that this is the first time for me.
     
  19. pauliaxz

    pauliaxz Mayor

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    422
    Maybe you haven't set your units to centimeters?
     
  20. DtwizzY

    DtwizzY Elite

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    111
    I don't know ..
    Maybe ... here are my object properties

    proper10.jpg

    Yet I followed what was said in the tutorial about the parameter of system units
     

Share This Page