1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. If you are going to register on XLNation, please make sure you do not use a proxy server.
    If you use a proxy server your registration will most likely get blocked due to spammers and hackers using proxy servers to hide their real IP address.

If your using your home or work IP address and have not received your registration email, check your spam folder.
    PLEASE DO NOT ASK TO HAVE YOUR ACCOUNT DELETED IF YOU HAVE POSTED IN THE FORUM! If so we do not delete accounts due to the mess it can make on the forum.
    Dismiss Notice

Icyhot Waves His Hand

Discussion in 'Presentations' started by IcyHot, Sep 14, 2014.

1. IcyHot

IcyHot Administrator
    Staff Member

Hey guys, I am IcyHot the 52 year old server administrator now of XLNation. First let me say I love city simulators and started with the original Simcity. I started playing CitiesXL at launch and I am one of the few the loved the online planet play of the game. Yes, it had problems but still I loved the community interaction. I have tried most City Simulators (including SC5). I currently don't play CitiesXL because I have not loaded bootcamp on my iMac (yup I am lazy). I hope to change that shortly.

I have lurked on XLNation for years. Around two years ago I approached Hyperwolf about hosting the website at my office on a dedicated server with lots of bandwidth. If you all remember back in 2011 and 2012 XLNation was constantly down because of issues on a shared server that hogged all the CPU time and maxed bandwidth usage each month.

Hyperwolf moved XLNation to my company server in 2012 (if I recall) and things worked "okay" I guess. A combination of events lead to lots of downtime that continued to get worse. I finally contacted Hyperwolf in August 2014 about handing over control of XLNation so that I could move the server to new software and hardware. That process is now complete.