1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. I will no longer be hosting XLNation as of March 1, 2017. Skullz613 will be taking the reigns of the site in early 2017 and XLNation will be moving to a new web hosting service. During that transition there will be an interruption in service of up to two weeks. Skullz613 is now a full administrator of XLNation. Be kind to him.

Is there a way to mod (design a building) without using 3ds Max 2012?

Discussion in 'Modding Help Quarter' started by ba-ad, Aug 3, 2015.

  1. ba-ad

    ba-ad Skilled Worker

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    6
    and i m asking this, since max 2012 is no longer available and any other..attempt to find it was not successful or safe. On the other hand, Focus has created this new Artist Suite that works with fbx files as well...
    I ve already tried a small experiment (although I m not experienced at all with modding). I exported a 3d file from sketchup as a dae. and then with a simple application converted it to fbx. But, although it was recognized by Artist Suite, it couldn t open it.I think the message was something about graphic...

    Do u have any ideas about this problem or generally about new ways for modding?
    Thank u!
     
  2. Alex24

    Alex24 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    170
    I have never tried to export to fbx, but maybe you have to set the right fbx format as well
     
  3. ba-ad

    ba-ad Skilled Worker

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    6
    thank u. i ll give it a try.
     
  4. Mr.X²

    Mr.X² Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    1,302
    i guess its due to the conversion from sketchup.. thats not a good way to mod for cxl. actually its a pain to do.
    if you want to try if its working id suggest to just create a simple box model from scratch (just draw a box, nothing else) give it a correct name (for example b_ind_boxtest1_l1) and apply a simple diffuse map on it
     
  5. ba-ad

    ba-ad Skilled Worker

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    6
    I ve done it with a simple design and map of course and i tried it with many fbx versions -the only thing i didn t do was to name it as Focus want. I ll try it. Thnks a lot.
     
  6. ba-ad

    ba-ad Skilled Worker

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    6
    One more thing (in case it helps). The Fbx converter gives the possibility to see the created (fbx) model and it always appears without the mapping. i can only see the shape and lines of the model.
     

Share This Page