1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. I will no longer be hosting XLNation as of March 1, 2017. Skullz613 will be taking the reigns of the site in early 2017 and XLNation will be moving to a new web hosting service. During that transition there will be an interruption in service of up to two weeks. Skullz613 is now a full administrator of XLNation. Be kind to him.

Remove Population From Game?

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by Artmaster, Nov 21, 2014.

  1. Artmaster

    Artmaster Executive

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    58
    Hello,

    Not sure if this is the correct forum for this question, but with population slowing down my game, I've been wondering if it's possible to completely remove it. Yes, just like when you start out with 0, that's how I would like it to stay, just a skeleton game to build highways, buildings, etc.

    Is this possible to change somewhere?

    If not, is there anyway to remove bankrupt icons and other icons that hover over buildings annoyingly?

    (Typically I try to resolve these issues through city building/planning, but it doesn't always work out perfectly, I just want a pure sandbox city building experience.)

    Thanks for reading,
    Art
     
  2. The Funky Monk

    The Funky Monk Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    547
    Not sure about mods or anything, but if you go to street view the icons disappear.
     
  3. snick

    snick Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    132
    Yeah those icons can get pretty annoying when you're building sandbox which I usually do before I worry about getting the city functional.

    I wish there was a way to hide those icons in the in-game options menu or something. That actually gives me an idea; I think I'll mention it to someone... can't promise anything will come of it though.

    As for population, there really isn't any way to do that unless you're willing to edit all the class files of the individual buildings and remove that manually - which would be quite the undertaking.
     
  4. snick

    snick Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    132
    Just like to add that if you want to remove those icons, one way is to go to the game's installation folder and edit \Data\Config\GlobalSettings.cfg. Set the value "<DisplayIcons>" to "0".

    I will probably do this myself when building sandbox - if you ever want the icons back it would just be a matter of changing the "0" back to "1".
     
    Artmaster likes this.
  5. Artmaster

    Artmaster Executive

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    58
    Thanks for the icon trick! I just realized there is a simple way to prevent population by never connecting the city or doing it at the very end of the building project. However, for my city it's a little late for that.
     
  6. snick

    snick Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    132
    Oh yeah, forgot about that. Also just remembered if you don't place a city hall, that also prevents residents from moving in.
     

Share This Page