1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. I will no longer be hosting XLNation as of March 1, 2017. Skullz613 will be taking the reigns of the site in early 2017 and XLNation will be moving to a new web hosting service. During that transition there will be an interruption in service of up to two weeks. Skullz613 is now a full administrator of XLNation. Be kind to him.

Virus Allert

Discussion in 'Modding Help Quarter' started by Merrilkl Maddox, May 10, 2015.

  1. Merrilkl Maddox

    Merrilkl Maddox Executive

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    8
    I was downloading,

    This missing Shader for the Shader Pack: http://www.mediafire.com/download/wl37kh3e1xwye9c/#Building_Enhanced_v2.fx#Building_Enhanced_v2.fx

    From tutorial:
    Let’s start 3D-Moddeling for Cities XL
    Very Basic Tutorial by Mr.X² - Part I

    When I went to Mediafire to download, I picked up a browser highjacker virus.

    I downloaded this file once before with no trouble. Not sure what happened, but be careful with this download.

    So far, I have managed to get rid of it, with the exception of, I had to delete Google Chrome.

    I have everything back up now. :)

    I was a little upset so I don't remember the name of the file, but if this happens to you, you will know the name!

    To get rid of it,
    1. Go to your control panel, select uninstall a program, and uninstall it.
    2. Next go to your web browser, it's going to load it's own search engine page. When it does, go to another search engine.
    3. In IE, open the little gear Icon at the top right side of the page "Tools" and select "Manage Add-ons"
    4. Select "Search Providers" look to the right and you will see it there, mouse over it and delete if you can, or disable it.
    5. Now you will need to reboot your system.
    Google is about the same way,
    1. Go to tools on the top right.
    2. Scroll down to "More Tools", in the pop out, select "Extensions".
    3. Look for that extension and delete it if you can, or disable it.
    4. Reboot your system.
    I hope no one runs across this like I did.

    Good luck.
     
  2. Merrilkl Maddox

    Merrilkl Maddox Executive

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    8

    I found the problem.

    When I was downloading the first time, there was a problem and as always, the minute I see something out of the normal, I close the page.
    Well, When I did, I did not realize that it had opened a popup in the background that read "Your file is ready for download". Like a moron, I went ahead and selected it thinking it was this file, by then it was too late, I could not get it to stop loading.

    Now that all is good, I went back to download that file. The file downloads just fine. However, I am not sure if it happens to everyone, but after downloading that file, it drops that same pop-up in the background, in a new page "Your file is ready for download". DON'T TOUCH THIS!!! Just close it.

    I checked, and it happens on a different systems as well, so it isn't a virus on my system. It's just a pop-up on that site.

    Just be careful.
     
  3. Pamascus27

    Pamascus27 Mayor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    223
    Huh this is really weird and I too hope this won't happen to other players. I have a feeling the virus
    might have been from all those annoying ads and popups that I've experienced from this site but I'm not sure.

    Thanks a ton neverthless for the info, this will help people a lot that might have contracted such virus! (y)
     
  4. Monty

    Monty Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    2,530
    Hey, i'm pretty sure you clicked on one of those "bait" fake download button adverts on Mediafire. I recommend you to use AdBlock plus extension that blocks all the ads. I've been using it for years and I don't think I could browse the web without it anymore. The shader file (if you download it by clicking in the real download button) is clean of viruses.

    The problem with these adwares is that if you're logged into Chrome and you have it set to sync your extensions, it will infect every Chrome installation you log into.

    You could ask to Mr. X to use a more "serious" file hosting service like Dropbox, Google Drive or Mega.co.nz, at least those doesn't seem to allow those fake download ads with viruses.
     
    Pamascus27 likes this.
  5. Pamascus27

    Pamascus27 Mayor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    223
    Ah great to hear that mate! Glad that problem is fixed and I hope people will be careful about this.
    And I agree with what Monty said, I highly recommend that.
     
  6. Merrilkl Maddox

    Merrilkl Maddox Executive

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    8
    I will look into this. I thought it was malware at first.

    I agree, I have downloaded it 2 times before. Don't know why it is dropping that pop-up now. But you are right, the file does need to be on a little cleaner host.

    When I got this one, I was using IE, and it infected all my browsers. Well, IE, Google, and Firefox. I don't have Safari or Opera on this system, so I'm not sure if it would have gotten them too. LOL

    Adblock Plus - I see a download for each browser. Do you need to download this independently for each, or will one download apply to all browsers?

    Just answered that myself. It's an independent extension, needs added to each browser.

    Thanks
     
  7. Monty

    Monty Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    2,530
    Yeah, I don't know about iE and Firefox because I don't use them. But for Chrome you can get AdBlock Plus from the official Chrome Store.
     
  8. gm624

    gm624 Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had the same issue without clicking any bait buttons. Then I had the issue where it asks me to put in a CAPTCHA numerous times to no avail. I'm responding to bump this and share my two cents. Not looking for a debate on browsers, just saying. Lol.
     
  9. Monty

    Monty Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    2,530
    As far as I know medifire doesn't use captchas. I can't see any catpcha either with AdBlock ON or OFF.
    This is how mediafire download page looks like with AdBlock Plus ON. No ads,no fake download buttons or fake captchas (?)
    screenshot_79.jpg
     
  10. gm624

    gm624 Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    For the benefit of other members facing dilemmas similar to mine, is this program available as a free version? If not, is it very expensive? Thanks for including a screen shot. And you previously mentioned it is only for Google Chrome? Correct? Just for clarification for both members and myself.
     
  11. Mr.X²

    Mr.X² Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    1,302
    shouldnt be a virus
    and never had trouble with mediafire...
    and nope, there arent any captchas at all
    anyway, as far as i know altiris has added this missing shader to the official download package here on xl-nation

    everything you need for modding you can get for free. no need to pay for sth at all :)
    adblock is freeware too, no idea if its available for chorme, for firefox its definitley available and works excellent
     
  12. The Funky Monk

    The Funky Monk Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    547
    I have adblock for both Firefox and chrome.
     
  13. IcyHot

    IcyHot Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    654
    BTW I virus check the XLNation server often, we are virus free atm
     
    The Funky Monk and Mr.X² like this.

Share This Page