1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. I will no longer be hosting XLNation as of March 1, 2017. Skullz613 will be taking the reigns of the site in early 2017 and XLNation will be moving to a new web hosting service. During that transition there will be an interruption in service of up to two weeks. Skullz613 is now a full administrator of XLNation. Be kind to him.

Tutorials Enable Multicore! Support For Cities Xl Platium

3rd Party Tools

  1. RealCity

    RealCity Executive

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    90
    RealCity submitted a new resource:

    Enable MULTICORE! Support FOR Cities XL - 3rd Party Tools

    Read more about this resource...
     
  2. nicko2u

    nicko2u Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    Is this a joke?
     
  3. RealCity

    RealCity Executive

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    90
    A friend work in EA told me this trick. You can test it by urself.
     
  4. Monty

    Monty Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    2,507
    Multi core doesn't work like that, software must be specifically programmed to distribute the processeses.
    To me it looks like you just moved the game's load from CPU0 to CPU3, and considering apps will usually use CPU0 that would explain the marginal performance gain.

    I'm not an expert at all but is well known that activating multicore in non multicore applications is not possible, the best you can do is to distribute the load manually setting affinity, which not necessarily will improve performance.


    o_O
     
  5. RealCity

    RealCity Executive

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    90
    Thanks for notifying. My friend is not an expert too, he just told me it's a little trick.^^
     
  6. RealCity

    RealCity Executive

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    90
    It's interesting that I do notice a slight improvement on FPS when I load my big city. From the same viewpoint, it increased from 15 to 18. Is that because cpu load is redistributed to more cores? Or is it just an illusion of performance variation of my PC?
     
  7. royb 98

    royb 98 Elite

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    142
    I'm a little bit skeptic but if it actually works it's worth downloading.
     
  8. Ashel

    Ashel Skilled Worker

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    we should to do it every time b4 start to play?
     
  9. bobqwerty

    bobqwerty Executive

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    96
    Mr.X² likes this.
  10. Radiant Dawn

    Radiant Dawn Elite

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2014
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    197
    Is this process necessary for every time the game is started or do you only do this once?
     
  11. RealCity

    RealCity Executive

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    90
    Yeah, you have to do it everytime
     
  12. dlimpens

    dlimpens Executive

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    72
    I tryed this, but the game slowed down and i had to wait to load menu`s, to place buildings....without it the game works normal - I have an intel core I7....so I don`t use this anymore.
     
  13. marros

    marros Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yo Corel i7, mi juego es lento, además de tener 16 GB de RAM y 4 GB de vídeo, este método no interrumpe el funcionamiento de mi pc?, Algo, pero no hay manera de que este tutorial fue dado en español, ya que la traducción de google deja muchas lagunas y es difícil de entender qué hacer,
     
  14. cemboa

    cemboa Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    I hope you find a solution like this for inter core i7. Some cities of the population over the 600.000. Make me crazy about slow game.
     
  15. marros

    marros Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    Me abrí la supresión de la shadercache
     
  16. César Morgan

    César Morgan Vagabond

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'll add my grain of salt to this...
    There's a difference between talking about Multicore and Multi-thread, and also Parallelization
    An application will support multicore if it's specifically written to leverage the power of multi-core CPUs, say for example, Raytrace Rendering, in which all cores will perform the same task with the same bank of data (each core will process its own fraction of the image)
    There's also Multi-threading, in which an application can start "mini applications" (better known as threads) nested within the same process. Generally, each little app performs one task, say, one thread will control the audio, another will control physics, another could control data flow, etc. Note that I did not mention anything about the CPU and multi-threading, but each thread could be Multi-core optimized if it's made to do so.
    Parallelization is the ability for a task to be completed by several independant workers, like the Raytrace example. Not every task can be parallelized though, if a calculation requires data that is not processed yet, or being processed by another thread.
    The main difference is, Multi-core is about doing one common task with several CPU cores, and Multi-thread is about an application trying to do several tasks. An application that doesn't specifically support multicore may assign all of its threads to the only CPU that the OS assigns to it.
    I think Cities XL might just be a regular Multi-thread application and the underlying Game engine may have support for Multi-core, but could be poorly implemented in Cities XL. By forcing the game to only use the CPU3 you are shifting all the game threads from the heavily loaded CPU0 to a free core, which bumps slightly the response time, because the CPU3 doesn't have to deal with any other concurrent Uni-core applications nor the OS. For the rest, it could be that the game engine senses the shift in core availability and adjusts accordingly. Then, by re-enabling the remaining cores, the game engine senses that again, and adjusts once again to use the rest of the system resources. But, that still might leave the Cities XL threads at CPU3, so you're offloading it a little bit more. Still, a noticeable boost in performance.
     

Share This Page