1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cities XXL Game crashes 5-10 minutes in

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by fcgm12, Jan 9, 2016.

Tags:
  1. fcgm12

    fcgm12 Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've recently started playing Cities XXL and I have this problem. It happens both with and without mods (the only difference is that I seem to be able to play a little longer without the mods).
    These are the last bits of a couple of the log files:
    Register or to view Spoiler content!
    Register or to view Spoiler content!

    Does anybody have any idea why this is happening & how could I fix it?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. ronrn

    ronrn Governor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    1,055
    Try:
    go to steam/library...right click on cities XXL....choose... properties/local files/verify integrity of game cache

    If that doesn't work (I know it's a pain) try a new complete install and be sure to remove any xxl related files first.
     
    fcgm12 likes this.
  3. fcgm12

    fcgm12 Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks!
    I tried the cache thing but it didn't work.
    I have already done a full re-install and it stayed the same :\

    Apparently it's not the game causing this since I've had a very similar issue playing other games. I'll try updating my drivers and so on. I read somewhere that it might be a problem of small processor or little memory (I have a Dual Core 2.60GHz and only 4Gb of RAM), so yeah...

    Anyway, do you -or anyone- know how to change the settings so that the game autosaves more often? After the cache cleaning it seems to have improved and now I can play for about half an hour; I don't really mind having to re-launch the game every time it crashes, it's just that I lose a lot of the progress since it usually only autosaves once or twice within that time. Is it possible to shorten the times between autosaves? I've tried saving manually but I tend to forget and it's quite a pain in the a**.
     
  4. ronrn

    ronrn Governor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    1,055
    No way to adjust auto save that I know of. Manual saving is the only way to advance saves.
    Try lowering the "detail display distance" & "traffic density" settings in the options panel.
     
  5. fcgm12

    fcgm12 Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, I've done a throrough clean of my PC (it had been a while since I'd last done it) and now everything works perfectly! The power of dust to screw things up cannot be understated.
    Thank you very much for your help :D

    Now if some mod or something can close this thread or mark it as resolved (or whatever, I'm still a noob)
     

Share This Page