1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. I will no longer be hosting XLNation as of March 1, 2017. Skullz613 will be taking the reigns of the site in early 2017 and XLNation will be moving to a new web hosting service. During that transition there will be an interruption in service of up to two weeks. Skullz613 is now a full administrator of XLNation. Be kind to him.

Having Issues With Steam Version Of Platinum

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by kylelowen, Jan 30, 2015.

  1. kylelowen

    kylelowen Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so I just bought cities xl on steam like a week ago and I discovered this site. I downloaded many mods and buildings from this site and half of the mods I downloaded are missing! I can find some of the buildings but most of them simply do not show up in the game menus. I have the shader pack and UIM so I know its not a dependency issue. Any advice?
     
  2. Pamascus27

    Pamascus27 Mayor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    223
    Have you made sure you had that 'Unlock All Buildings' option from the cheats list activated?
    You can find the cheat button in the menu(i think the shortcut is pressing the Esc button) and if clicked, you can find that option.
     
  3. Mr.X²

    Mr.X² Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    if its not what pam said, it might be a broken uim installation
    try reinstalling it and make sure to follow instructions given in the xlex-entry
     
  4. kylelowen

    kylelowen Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I tried the unlock all buildings cheat it didn't solve it and I am pretty sure I installed UIM right what could be the problem with the UIM?
     
  5. Le Cat

    Le Cat Guest

    Where do you place your mods?
    Which folder?
     
  6. kylelowen

    kylelowen Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    program filesx86/Steam/steamapps/common/CitiesXLPlatinum/Paks/mods
     
  7. Le Cat

    Le Cat Guest

    The path is correct... Weird.
    But you installed UIM in \\Common\CitiesXLPlatinum, right?
     
  8. kylelowen

    kylelowen Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    what in just Cities XL Platinum or in the paks folder
     
  9. Le Cat

    Le Cat Guest

    Mods => program filesx86/Steam/steamapps/common/CitiesXLPlatinum/Paks/mods
    UIM => program filesx86/Steam/steamapps/common/CitiesXLPlatinum
     
  10. kylelowen

    kylelowen Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I reinstalled it still no luck, btw I love your username (y)
     
  11. Le Cat

    Le Cat Guest

    Meow !
     
    kylelowen likes this.
  12. kylelowen

    kylelowen Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are there other people with this issue?
     
  13. skullz613

    skullz613 Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    1,403
    I always had problem with Platinum and the UIM. I end up manually putting the patch files into the folders as the EXE always failed to install it even when I was on 32bit windows.
    If your on 64bit windows you have to use the patch version of the UIM
     
  14. kylelowen

    kylelowen Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright how do you do this? I have 64-bit system so what do I need to do
     
  15. skullz613

    skullz613 Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    1,403
    Just copy the file ZZZZZZ_XLN_Altiris_UIM_v1.79.9 into your paks folder. There are three optional files that you can also copy to your paks folder.
    XLNUIM_Interface_500Thumbnails_v1.1, XLNUIM_Interface_ResourceModeON_v1.1 and XLNUIM_NOCOLLISION_HighwayInterchanges_v1.0
     
  16. kylelowen

    kylelowen Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok and what about other mods how do I get them to work
     
  17. skullz613

    skullz613 Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    1,403
    If you get UIM working, all the mods should be OK. Put them in your PAKs folder and you should be good to go. Some mods need the expert setting ticked or you will not see them.
     
  18. kylelowen

    kylelowen Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    See I already have UIM working but only half the mods working in game...
     
  19. skullz613

    skullz613 Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    1,403
    Do you mean only half are showing in the menu or do you mean only half actually work?
     
  20. kylelowen

    kylelowen Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Only half show up (n)
     

Share This Page