1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. I will no longer be hosting XLNation as of March 1, 2017. Skullz613 will be taking the reigns of the site in early 2017 and XLNation will be moving to a new web hosting service. During that transition there will be an interruption in service of up to two weeks. Skullz613 is now a full administrator of XLNation. Be kind to him.

Cities XXL Language can't be changed XXL

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by thefriendlyarab, Sep 21, 2015.

  1. thefriendlyarab

    thefriendlyarab Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys. After recently fixing the game I am unable to change the language. I am unsure of what language it is in. Can someone help me get it back to english?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. royb 98

    royb 98 Elite

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    142
    You can try this:
    • Right-click the Cities XL-shortcut
    • Go to 'properties' or something similar (I don't have Windows in English so I'm not sure).
    • Then you'll see a menu. Select the 'shortcut' tab above and then you'll see two links which start with: "C:\Program Files\Focus Home Interactive\Cities. Select the first one (I think it's something like 'target').
    • Select the end of this link, which will look similar to this: _Platinum.exe" LOCALIZATION/LANGUAGE=en.
    • Select the part after the =-sign and change it to en as in the example.
     
  3. thefriendlyarab

    thefriendlyarab Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll give that a try as soon as I get home. I'm doing maybe my fifth reinstallation of a fresh copy and reinstallation of the mods. I wish it wasn't so hard to reinstall the workshop mods from steam.
     
  4. thefriendlyarab

    thefriendlyarab Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you're referring to cities XL. I need help w/ XXL.
     
  5. royb 98

    royb 98 Elite

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    142
    I used CXL Platinum for the example, yes. But are you sure it doesn't work with CXXL? Of course the links woukd have to look different.
    If you haven't found how to change the language after this afternoon (European time ;)), I'lI search where the localisation is located in the game so you can change it back the normal way.
     
  6. royb 98

    royb 98 Elite

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    142
    Okay, so apparently the language can't be changed in-game...

    Anyway, here's a screenshot that might help you. Since your current language is set to Taiwanese (tw), the link on the right should end with LOCALIZATION/LANGUAGE=tw for you. I'm not sure what it looks like in Windows 8 or 10 but it should be similar.
    upload_2015-9-22_18-43-21.png
     
  7. thefriendlyarab

    thefriendlyarab Unskilled Worker

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wiped the game completely. It's fine now. Now I have to figure out how to redownload steam workshop
     

Share This Page