1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. It's not long before we will be moving. The new hosting has been setup and the next thing to be done is to change the DNS. When it's changed it may take between 24 to 48 hours to take effect. During this time XLN will be closed so it can be backed up. When the new DNS takes effect, you will see a basic page with a message regarding the move. Note: It may take up to two weeks to get XLN up and running again.
    Dismiss Notice

modding?

Discussion in 'General Forums' started by nicko2u, Oct 4, 2015.

  1. nicko2u

    nicko2u Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    1,060
    I see a few xln users have already posted some mods to skylines, is it easy? can we convert existing models? pretty sure we can. Are there any tutorials? Why has no one posted any if not?

    I just bought the game 50% off. so might play it and might see if I can add some of my models to it! love to hear some feed back from other xln come skyline modders!!!

    Edit - @IcyHot maybe add a modding sub forum to skyline forum? if you read this lol
     
  2. Monty

    Monty Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2,677
    Apparently is easier to make mods for Skylines. And yes you can convert your CXL mods.
     
  3. pauliaxz

    pauliaxz Mayor

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    424
    CSL modding is easier, and needs less effort (lower triangle counts).
    Basically, you can just edit or rework your L3s of CXL for CSL.
     
  4. nicko2u

    nicko2u Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    1,060
    not sure about just altering your L3?
    basically from what i'm reading here https://forum.paradoxplaza.com/foru...a-model-into-game-ready-asset-3ds-max.857689/

    all you need is your L1 and L4 models. might have to also adjust some maps/textures. ie basic ill map, _a alpha map is transparency as well.

    either way I might try to convert on of mine, seems xln modding is doomed since its limited to 3d max 2012 and mine expires in few months. so will prb download and use the latest version of max.
     
  5. pauliaxz

    pauliaxz Mayor

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    424
    I mean you can use your L3 model of CXL mod and transform it to L1 model of CSL. There is no need to model the base. So you can delete it and save texture space (no need for grass, parking, pavement textures).
    BTW, you can use the same CXL L4 for CSL Lod file.
     
  6. nicko2u

    nicko2u Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    1,060
    ah thanks, yeah I forget to note to myself you dont need base. still not sure why dont you use L1 ? instead of L3? more details are good as long as triangle count is in spec?
     
  7. pauliaxz

    pauliaxz Mayor

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    424
    Of course you can use L1, but usually L3s of CXL models meet CSL reqs.
     

Share This Page