1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. I will no longer be hosting XLNation as of March 1, 2017. Unless some one steps forward to take over the domain name and provide hosting XLNation will shutdown. If you are seriously interested in taking on this project and can technically and financially support the project please contact me.

CXL Platinum No Free Slot.

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by Radiant Dawn, Oct 15, 2014.

  1. Radiant Dawn

    Radiant Dawn Elite

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2014
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    196
    What does it mean when one of your maps says "no free slot" when you try to open it and what can I do to solve it?
     
  2. Alex24

    Alex24 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    169
    UIM installed?
     
    Radiant Dawn likes this.
  3. nicko2u

    nicko2u Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    you the default game is limited to x amount of map slots, UIM increases it to allow more if you select that option. I'm sure there was also a separate mod that did the same.
     
    Radiant Dawn likes this.
  4. Radiant Dawn

    Radiant Dawn Elite

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2014
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    196
    I do have the UIM installed, however I was not aware of an option that you select that enables that feature.

    Anyways, after deleting some open maps that I wasn't using, I seem to have solved the problem, however for future reference, how do I select the option with the UIM to enable the more map slot option?
     
  5. nicko2u

    nicko2u Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    I think when you first set-up/run UIM exe, it gives you option, could be wrong been ages since I installed it.
     
    Radiant Dawn likes this.
  6. Alex24

    Alex24 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    169
    I think there is actually no option for that, it simply adds more slots without asking
     
  7. Ammar Shaker

    Ammar Shaker Skilled Worker

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    50
    im facing the same problem. i have UIM. i also tried to edit the cxl file but did not success :(
     
  8. Ammar Shaker

    Ammar Shaker Skilled Worker

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    50
    finally fixed it, you need to delete an unused save file.
    go to:
    C:\Users\<YourUserName>\AppData\Local\Focus Home Interactive\Cities XL 2012\live\offline\solo

    then delete one of the save folders which you don't need anymore.
     
  9. The Funky Monk

    The Funky Monk Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    547
    UIM does it automatically, there is no option. Have a look at one if the maps you are using, it will have % of uses. Some use 20% each time and others more. There is also a mod called 'add extra map slots' by Altiris , but I think this is for locations on the planet.
     
  10. skullz613

    skullz613 Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    1,395
    I've seen a few custom maps use 50%. You just have to remove any unwanted cities using the map you want to use.
     
  11. Skater27

    Skater27 Executive

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    14
    Some users created maps use the same slot(s) index as an already existing map.
    This can also result in a "No free slot".
    50% means there are two slots for that index and one is already in use.
    The slot index is related to a position on the globe.
    This was probably some feature that never made it into the game or had to do with the online sharing game.
    Maybe to connect the globe terrain with the map terrain.
    Would have been better to rip the globe out and just supply slots for some number of cities with any map.
     
  12. jclee94

    jclee94 Vagabond

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have cities XXL and some of my maps are not in use and it still shows as 0% free slots.....what can I do to fix the issue
     
  13. ronrn

    ronrn Governor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    699
    -go to:
    C:\Users\YourUserName\AppData\Local\Focus Home Interactive\Cities XXL\live\offline\solo
    -copy/backup the entire "solo" folder.

    -remove any one or all "abcdef_slotmap.cxl" that is not associated with your saved cities (the "solosaveregion#map##" folders).
    This will free up "slots" for new maps.
     

Share This Page