1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. I will no longer be hosting XLNation as of March 1, 2017. Skullz613 will be taking the reigns of the site in early 2017 and XLNation will be moving to a new web hosting service. During that transition there will be an interruption in service of up to two weeks. Skullz613 is now a full administrator of XLNation. Be kind to him.

Yes Or No About The Old Xlnation Server

Discussion in 'Website Information and News' started by IcyHot, Aug 30, 2014.

  1. IcyHot

    IcyHot Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    654
    The XLNation server is hacked. I am considering putting it back up online with a different domain name like "XLNationOld.net" with no guarantees. I am gonna make one final effort on Saturday to revive it. Just to be clear, the old server and new server on NOT on the same computer. You would be using it at your own risk. So is this ethical or just let it die?

    If I can get it working this would at least allow people who want to risk it, the chance to grab CJs and XLEX entries to reimport here.

    Also I have ALL the patches from XLNation, we need to figure out how to get them re-posted here. All I got is long file names etc, no corresponding explanation or pictures of what the patch does.
     
  2. skullz613

    skullz613 Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes Received:
    1,407
    Put a page up as the index.html with a BIG warning of the risk and a link to continue.
     
  3. nicko2u

    nicko2u Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    I wouldn't put a compromised website online unless you first fix any security holes in it. your choice its your server.

    Maybe you can copy the xlex entries and repost it somewhere?
     
  4. snick

    snick Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    132
    Sine you have the patch files and the images and descriptions can be found via webarchive, I don't think there's any need to put it back online as far as the transfer of xlex entries is concerned.

    Now if people had a CJ they really wanted to save, then perhaps that would be a reason to get the old server back online; they would have to transfer it themselves at their own risk.
     
  5. nicko2u

    nicko2u Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    cant they just grab a cj of that web archive thing?
     
  6. snick

    snick Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    132
    Yeah. Maybe for people who created one recently, in the past two months as the latest webarchive thingy is in June. Although there might be other archives that have a more recent save?
     
  7. Pamascus27

    Pamascus27 Mayor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    223
    As Nicko said above, I think we can copy the CJs by using web archives sites. Good example is Wayback Machine site. Or Google's own web archive. The last archive for XLN there was just some hours ago. As for CJs, I tried Tayra and the latest archive on Google's version was just some days ago. (y)
     
  8. Monty

    Monty Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    2,519
    I think is better not to bring it up again. As Snick said, we are still able to access threads, xlex and cjs via webarchive and google cache.
     
  9. veija2

    veija2 Mayor

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    476
    Nip it. I'd love to have access to my old cj's, but not at your risk.

    Regarding the patches - I am willing to upload the ones I have and know, with a screen shot. Other members have way more than me. Can we recreate the index?
     
  10. nicko2u

    nicko2u Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    1,053
  11. veija2

    veija2 Mayor

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    476
    Works for me. thx. Down with the old! In with the new.
     
  12. M_A_K

    M_A_K Guest

    should we have a 'patch identification' forum?

    (just a thought) :think:

    PS: im absolutely LOVING this new site
     
    nicko2u likes this.
  13. fredlangva

    fredlangva Vagabond

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    The patches are the most important. The CJs would be nice to have but as long as there is an archive, we can get at the older stuff.

    I don't think there is a way to get the old site content out of the version of drupal. I have done a bit of research on it, I guess you can export it from one version and merge to another.

    I imagine the site was compromised through a root kit. The safest thing to do wold be to export the CJs to a PDF doc and then place that image in an archive on the new server.
     
  14. nicko2u

    nicko2u Governor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    Sounds like a good idea for those lost or questioned mod/patches - not sure about the title of the thread but yeah.


    come on funky and alex you guys are the experts get us organised :)
     
  15. IcyHot

    IcyHot Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    654
    I have all the .patches btw and they will be going up on the new box, it just make take some time
     
  16. MayorAdamWest

    MayorAdamWest Vagabond

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Definitely don't launch a compromised site!

    It's like saying "Shall we put our money in this Bank even though there's no lock on the front door or vault?"

    It may appeal to seasoned internetting computer masters, but the masses wouldn't touch it.
     
  17. IcyHot

    IcyHot Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    654
    No worries there, its not allowed to have an ethernet cable plugged in. If I need to get stuff from it, I use a USB drive
     
    MayorAdamWest likes this.

Share This Page